• Leader in School Public Relations Awards Program
    SC/NSPRA presents Leader in School Public Relations Award
    Mary Beth Hill
    The South Carolina Chapter of the National School Public
     Relations Association (SC/NSPRA), the largest statewide organization devoted to effective school communications, honored Mary Beth Hill, chief communications officer for Lexington County School District One, with its Leader in School Public Relations Award for veterans.
    The award program recognizes school public relations professionals who demonstrate outstanding commitment to and leadership in their profession as evidenced by their accomplishments at the local and/or state levels. The newcomer category recognizes a professional with three years or less experience in school public relations, while the veteran award goes to an individual with four or more years in the field.
    “A consummate professional, Mary Beth Hill is more than deserving of this recognition,” said SC/NSPRA President Debbie Elmore. “In this age of over information, a school district needs a communications professional to manage communication strategies that are proactive for a school district, instead of reactive. Mary Beth’s leadership to ensure her growing school district is an active player in their community, not a passive one, serves as a role model to other district communications professionals.”
    Hill began working in school public relations in 1996 when she joined the staff of Lexington One.
    Lexington One Superintendent Dr. Karen Woodward said, “Over the years Mary Beth has continually implemented a comprehensive communications strategy that promotes the excellence and interests of Lexington One and responds to the needs and concerns of our community.
    Mary Beth believes in public education and works at the local and state level to advocate for legislation and policies that move our state forward in providing a quality education for all students.”
    A nominee must be an active or retired member of SC/NSPRA and be in good standing with the chapter. Any member of SC/NSPRA, the nominee’s supervisor, or a colleague from the nominee’s school district/agency/organization may nominate a chapter member.
    The selection committee is comprised of the awards program coordinator and at least two community representatives working in public relations appointed by the program coordinator.

    (Editor’s note: SC/NSPRA is a professional organization dedicated to building support for education through responsible public relations that leads to success for all students.)

Last Modified on August 29, 2014